Victories in the Animal World (and other stuff)

Researching bonding between pets and their pet parents.

Researching bonding between pets and their pet parents.

I’m sorry to let you know that I have still been unable to write a real Puppy Dog Tales story about the three Holy Terrors, or even one about the Adorable Dogly Duo.  I know it is coming, but the grieving isn’t finished yet.  I don’t want to write a lot of tear-jerking articles.  Those get old pretty fast.

I do want to write an article about the grieving process, because I have been quite surprised by mine and have done some research about it to find out why I have responded to Oreo’s passing the way I have.  Pet parents who have gone through a similar experience might find this interesting.

Also coming down the blogging trail in the new, not necessarily improved, but always (I hope) interesting, Puppy Dog Tales will  be articles about other pets, broadening PDT’s horizon to include all animals, although the focus will remain on dogs.

English: American pit bull terrier (named Tutt...

American pit bull terrier (named Tuttle) seated. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A new book of interest to pet parents, actually probably of interest to all animal lovers, is the story of Galunker, a zany pit bull, who came to the painful realization that he was judged for what people thought he was (vicious and mean) instead of what he really was (sweet and loveable).  The authors, Douglas Anthony Cooper and Dula Yavne, have shown the truth about pit bulls in this charming children’s book, which will be released this month.  In an exclusive interview, co-author Douglas Anthony Cooper tells about the writing of Galunker, why it was necessary and how the story unfolded.

English: East Grand Forks, MN, 04/01/1997 -- D...

East Grand Forks, MN, 04/01/1997 — Dave Pauli of the Humane Society of the United States proudly shows off a rescued pet. Animal rescue operations in the Grand Forks area continued for several days. Photo by: DAVID SAVILLE/FEMA News Photo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Rescue stories will also play a part in future Puppy Dog Tales editions.  In keeping with this direction and in order to give you something enjoyable to watch in this edition, I am including below a video from The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS).  Watching the narrator recount The HSUS’s victories for animals in 2014 and its plans for more applause-worthy efforts in 2015 brought tears to my eyes.  Trite as that sounds, it really happened.  Let’s see if you can get through this video without any eye moisture whatsoever.  As long as they are tears of joy, it’s okay.  I hope you enjoy this.

(Please note that publishing day for Puppy Dog Tales has been changed from Sunday to Tuesday.)

If you have any pet stories you
would like to share, please either
leave your comment below, or
EMAIL me at raya at fantasyfic dot com.

Text copyrighted © 2014 by Sandra
Bell Kirchman. All rights RESERVED.
(Vol. 14.12-1, Dec. 8, 2014)

 

5 Comments

  1. I know you will write an article about the grieving process Sandra, just do it when you are ready. I did one for my Penny when I lost her, but it was a while before I could bring myself even to think about it. It was the best therapy I could have had for me.
    The HSUS Victories for Animals 2014 video was sometimes sad, but interesting too, to see how things are progressing to make life better for animals. I did cry, but mostly tears of joy for the animals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your support and encouragement again. What I found out about the bond between pet and pet parent was very interesting; the information was pertinent and helpful in my case. I think quite a few others might find it helpful. The video was sad to see how people let animals come to such a state. However, I am so ready for good news about helping animals that I cheered on the victories.

      As for my mention of you in the Related Articles, I remember that post about not giving animals for Christmas presents until you’ve thought it through from a couple of years ago. It was probably one of the most well written pieces on the subject that I’ve ever read. Therefore, I was helping my blog by linking quality stuff, heh heh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That article about not buying or giving pets for Christmas presents was so well received and I’d like to re-blog it. However, I have a self-hosted blog, and there is no option (that I’m aware of), to do that. 😦

    Like

Oreo, Tilly & Ling Ling will wag their tales...er tails if you reply :)

