How Dogs Smell

Beagle Smell

Beagle Smell (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Did you know that dogs have practically miraculous smellers?  You did?  Okay, then, did you know that dogs can also smell the past and the future, as well?  Aha, I thought not!  Neither did I.

During the process of getting back to my blog and at least finishing the multi-part series What to Do in Case of Pet Grief, I came across this fascinating post* with the following, compelling sub-title:

Two dogs smell each other on the street in Mil...

Two dogs smell each other on the street (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Did You Know That Your Dog’s Nose Can Smell The Past, The Future, And Even Things That Cannot Be Seen At All?

Naturally, I had to rush to read it…and I came away amazed.  I have always loved my dogs pretty much unreservedly just because they were, well, part of my family and because they were dogs.  In my mind, I accepted that they were in many ways less capable than humans at many tasks, while also vaguely acknowledging that they were superior at other tasks, like sense of smell, night vision, motor skills, and so on.

After watching this video, I sat for a moment, letting my brain digest the wonders I had just seen.  My respect for canines, already a respectable size, grew astronomically.  All the things these wonder-critters could do–tracking, diagnosing, giving therapy AND sympathy…the list goes on!

Watch this for yourself.  I would cherish any insights on how it affected you in the comments below.

* Video reblogged from the Freekibble site
Text portion copyright 2015 by Sandra Bell Kirchman
All rights reserved by respective copyright holders.

2 Comments

  1. We all know the power of a dog’s sense of smell, but after watching the video, I am even more impressed with the things they can tell just by sniffing that wonderful nose of theirs! Now they are using them to detect cancer, and in nursing homes to detect when a person is nearing the end of their life.
    They are truly amazing, and will always be mans best friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Oreo, Tilly & Ling Ling will wag their tales...er tails if you reply :)

